top of page
Search

Romance Writing Sample 2

Weddings are supposed to be a happy occasion; two people declaring their love for each other and then riding off into the sunset, however, when it comes to my wedding things didn’t go according to plan, and chaos was quick to follow. It all started out like any other wedding day, with hair and makeup being done all day and hanging out with friends and family; I never saw the betrayal coming and I didn’t know it would feel the way it did. I love my sister to death but sometimes she can be a bit of a jealous person when it comes to me and she sometimes has a tendency to take things that she really doesn’t want but also doesn’t want me to have either. 30 minutes before we leave to head to the aisle she slips out and I don’t really think anything of it, however, when 10 minutes go by with no return I decide to go looking for her without telling anyone. As I am walking down a hall I can hear noises coming from a room at the end so being the curious person that I am I go to check it out only to hear voices coming from the other side of the door.


“Why are you still with her? You said you would leave soon”, it was my sister talking to someone.


“I know, it’s just that I don’t know how and I don’t want to do it on her wedding day”, she was talking to my fiance of all people.


“Forget about her, you know you love me and not her”


“I know but I just need a little more time, after the wedding, I will get it annulled and we can just run away together”, I couldn’t believe what I was hearing.


“Good, now get over here and show me you love me”


I was in shock and couldn’t move from the spot I was standing in, after about 5 minutes I hear the door begin to open and I still can’t move, it’s only when I hear the gasp of my mother behind me that I am shaken out of my state of shock. I turn to see my mother with her hand on her mouth and that is when I just make a run for it; I run out the back of the building and see a man unloading a delivery truck, I run straight for him, and just as I hear my fiance coming after me. I jump in the truck just as the guy is starting to drive off, to say he was shocked was an understatement but he could hear the man yelling behind the truck and see my look of sheer sadness so he kept driving. I just sat in the passenger seat and cried for what seemed like forever; not once did the man speak up and we sat in silence until I got myself together enough to be social.


“You want to tell me why you jumped into my truck?”, he was being calm about this whole thing.


“I don’t want to talk about it”, I was not about to tell a stranger my business.


“I just help you pull a runaway bride lady”, fair point.


“I just caught my fiance and my sister hooking up 20 minutes before my wedding”, hearing it out loud made it real.


“Damn, that sucks, sorry you had to see that”, great, just what I need the delivery man feeling sorry for me.


“I don’t need your sympathy right now”


“Ok, then I don’t feel sorry for you”, oh now he is just being a jerk.


“You don’t have to be a jerk about it”


“Lady, you are one crazy bird”, you would be too if you just found out your fiance is a dick.


“I’m sorry, I know it’s not fair to take out my frustrations on you”


We sit in silence for a while while I try to collect my thoughts and try to figure out what my next move is going to be, I know that I can’t go back to the church and I don’t want to go home although I do want to get out of this damn dress. I decided that I will just say fuck it and go straight to the airport and buy a ticket to some faraway place, I just need to get my wallet and phone and I know exactly how I will do it. I ask the truck driver if I can borrow his phone to make a phone call real quick, at first he looks at me in surprise but when he sees the look on my face he quickly gives up the phone; I call my best friend and maid of honor and tell her everything. Once I am done, I ask her to bring me a change of clothes and my phone and wallet to the airport, I also make her swear to not tell a soul where I am, the last thing I need is my ex-fiance showing up. I hang up the call and I tell the truck driver where I am going and ask him to take me there, at first he seems a little hesitant but then I explain what I am doing and he agrees to help me.


“Thanks for all your help, I know you didn’t have to help me”, I was grateful that he was delivering something when he was.


“It’s all good, I understand what it’s like to be betrayed by someone you thought you loved”


“Is there a story behind that comment?”, I was curious now.


“Let’s just way I been where you are now, not in a strangers truck but feeling unsure of what is real anymore”


“Your more than welcome to come with me if you like, I could use the distraction”, I was losing it, asking a stranger to go on a trip with me.


“Listen, lady, you seem nice but I don’t think that would be a good idea, besides you need time to process what just happened”, he was right, I did need the time.


“Your right, it was silly of me to ask you to come with me; hey, I never got your name, I’m Hannah by the way”, it was only right I tell me who I am.


“Santos, nice to have met you Hannah”, he’s a nice man.


“Nice to have met you too”, that was the truth.


We arrived at the airport just as my friend was getting there, she can drive fast when she wants to, good thing she is a cop or she could get arrested; I once again thank Santos and we exchange numbers, I know it’s silly but I like knowing I have it. I run to my friend and she gives me the biggest hug, I ask her if anyone followed her or even asked her where she was going, and tells me that my ex-fiance did thinking she would tell him where I was. Luckily she was able to throw him off by saying that I went back to the apartment to pack my things, she said that he left after telling my mother, she was able to slip out while everyone was heading to my apartment to look for me. After that, I went into the restroom and changed, I gave the dress to my friend and asked her to burn it when she got home as I would not be needing it anymore, she happily agreed to do it. After saying my goodbyes to her I buy my plane ticket and head to my boarding gate, I figure I will tell my family everything when I land safely and won’t have to see my ex or my sister.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alice Ep1

It was one of those days where everything was going great until it wasn’t, I was sitting on my couch reading a nice book when some guys came knocking at my door; I live in a pretty nice neighborhood w

The Story of Us Ep1

Rosaline walked down the busy street with purpose, she was heading to a job interview with a prestigious business firm, she had been dreaming of working for this firm since she could remember; her fat

Fantasy Writing Sample

Let's start at the beginning, Aleesha (uh-lee-sha) has just saved up enough money to buy her dream home the enchanted forest of Sirrulia (sir-rul-lea); it takes her some years but she finally gets the

bottom of page