top of page
Search

Fantasy Writing Sample

Let's start at the beginning, Aleesha (uh-lee-sha) has just saved up enough money to buy her dream home the enchanted forest of Sirrulia (sir-rul-lea); it takes her some years but she finally gets the money together; the real-estate agent assures her that the forest is quiet and peaceful. After a few days time, she is all moved and ready to start her new quiet life; she was once the most sought-after witch in the city but she grew tired of that life. She is not expecting the cast of characters that she has to share the forest with, nor is she expecting them to know who she is or want anything from her, but that is what she gets when the first one arrives. An odd-looking gnome arrives the day after she is all moved in, he claims to be a neighbor and wants to say welcome, but quickly gets straight to the point.


Answering the door Aleesha is surprised when she looks out and saw no one “Hello, is somebody there”, she looks confused for a minute.


“Down here sweets”, she looks down, and there he is.


“Oh, I didn’t see you down there”


“Most people don’t see me, the name is Bob btw”, she seems nice enough.


“Well how can I help you Bob”, she wants to get this over with fast.


“I came to welcome you to the forest” he sounds a bit shaky.


“Oh how nice, well thank you, and have a nice day”


“Are you busy? You seem busy, I’ll just go then”, he’s nervous about something.


“You seem a bit nervous, are you OK?”, she knows that look.


“No, why would you say that?”


“Because I know you know me and want something”, it happens all the time.


“Is it that obvious?”


“Yes, very much so; how long have you known who I was?”


“Since the first time you came to see the cottage, sorry about the rouge”, she knew this might happen.


“Well I hate to break it to you but I gave up granting favors when I bought this place”

“I really need your help”


“Sorry but I can’t help you”, and with that, she closes her door and returns to her morning routine of cleaning and cooking.


A few days later Aleesha gets a knock on the door and given the encounter from before she had a feeling of what is on the other side of the door, so she prepares herself for what is going to happen when she opens the door. Sure enough, when she opens the door there’s an ogre standing there with a smile on his face; she can see right through his smile and know exactly why he’s there, and just like the gnome before she is going to turn this man away too. She didn’t want these creatures to keep coming to her door looking for help when she knows that she won’t give it to them; she will have to be firm and direct when handling this person or she might give in.


“What do you want?”, direct and to the point.


“The name is Everlee and I know you told my buddy Bob that you could not help him but I was wondering if you could please just hear me out”, not a bad request.


“OK, what is it then?”


“I have lived in this forest for most of my life and I have tried to leave and go out into the city only to driven back here by city folks, I think if I change how I look they will like me more”, an ogre with body issues.


“So you want me to break my vow of no witchcraft so you can look more presentable to city dwellers?”


“I know that it seems shallow and ridiculous to you but I really feel I need it”, her vow is safe with this guy.


“Look, I get it, I really do, but I also believe in loving the skin you are in and so I can’t give you the makeover that you want”


“But you don’t understand, I am meant for more, and I can’t get it without looking the part”


“No, you don’t understand, I am not going to go back to who I used to be for an ogre who wants a face lift, I can’t help you and I won’t so good day sir”, and with that, she closed her door and continued on about her day. From time to time she gets the occasional visitor trying to get her to break her vow with some sob story but she turns them away because she is not about to revert back to her old ways for anybody.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alice Ep1

It was one of those days where everything was going great until it wasn’t, I was sitting on my couch reading a nice book when some guys came knocking at my door; I live in a pretty nice neighborhood w

The Story of Us Ep1

Rosaline walked down the busy street with purpose, she was heading to a job interview with a prestigious business firm, she had been dreaming of working for this firm since she could remember; her fat

Romance Writing Sample 2

Weddings are supposed to be a happy occasion; two people declaring their love for each other and then riding off into the sunset, however, when it comes to my wedding things didn’t go according to pla

bottom of page